More than half of U.S. now faces travel quarantine in New York tri-state region


The sun sets below the Manhattan Bridge on July 20, 2020 in New York City .

Gary Hershorn | Corbis News | Getty Images

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo, New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont added ten more states to their travel restrictions list Tuesday, now requiring people from 31 states to self-quarantine for 14 days if they visit the area.

The travel advisory applies to anyone arriving from a state that has a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positive rate over a 7-day rolling average. The newly added states are: Alaska, Indiana, Delaware, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia and Washington.

“As infection rates increase in 41 other states, our numbers continue to steadily decline, thanks to the hard work of New Yorkers and our incremental, data-driven opening,” Cuomo said in a statement. “Yesterday, we had our lowest death toll since the pandemic began – and with no fatalities in New York City. While today’s numbers are encouraging, we must remain vigilant.”

This is breaking news. Check back here for updates.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

What to do if you’re at risk of eviction now that the CARES Act moratorium has ended
Clorox names longtime executive its new CEO, as company beats estimates on pandemic-led demand
Take a first look inside Virgin Galactic’s spaceship cabin for tourists
McCain defended Obama as a ‘decent person’ during the 2008 election
Wall Street’s top analysts say stocks like Qualcomm and Spotify have compelling upside potential

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *